October

Here We Are

Nir Bergman

Aharon takes care of his autistic son Uri. When Uri has to move to an institution, father and son run away. But where are they going? And what do they hope to find? Emotional, carefully told story about the dilemma’s of being a parent to a child with a disorder.

Uri is autistic and lives with his single father Aharon. They have a unique understanding, and Aharon patiently loves his son with all his heart. But Uri is an adult now, and his mother thinks it’s time for him to move to a specialized home. Uri doesn’t want to. And Aharon doesn’t want to either. While they’re on their way to the institution, Aharon decides to run away. Father and son hit the road, taking a cross-country trip through Israel, meeting old friends and strangers.

Here We Are is a beautiful story about the struggle of a devoted father, and the difficulties of making the right choices when caring for someone with a mental disorder. Directed by Nir Bergman (co-creator of In Therapy) and with incredible acting by Shai Avivi as Aharon and especially Noam Imber as Uri.

Credits

Director
Nir Bergman
Type
Fiction
Country
Israel, Italy
Year
2020
Spoken Language
Hebrew
*Theatres with English subtitles

Theatres, dates and times (updated when more dates are announced)

Alkmaar
Tue 12 Oct at 19:00 in Filmhuis Alkmaar
Amersfoort
Mon 11 Oct at 20:15 in De Lieve Vrouw
Amsterdam
Wed 20 Oct at 19:30 in Kriterion*
Apeldoorn
Tue 12 Oct at 20:00 in Gigant
Arnhem
Wed 27 Oct at 19:00 in Focus Filmtheater
Delft
Thu 21 Oct at 19:30 in Filmhuis Lumen
Den Haag
Sun 10 Oct at 16:30 in Filmhuis Den Haag*
Deventer
Mon 25 Oct at 20:20 in MIMIK
Enschede
Mon 18 Oct at 19:30 in Concordia*
Groningen
Tue 12 Oct at 20:30 in Vera Zienema*
Hilversum
Tue 12 Oct at 20:15 in Filmtheater Hilversum
Leiden
Mon 11 Oct at 19:00 in Kijkhuis*
Maastricht
Mon 4 Oct at 19:30 in Lumière*
Middelburg
Tue 5 Oct at 20:00 in Cinema Middelburg*
Nijmegen
Wed 13 Oct at 19:30 in LUX
Utrecht
Mon 11 Oct in Louis Hartlooper Complex
Wageningen
Tue 19 Oct at 20:00 in Movie W*