March & April

Wij praten niet

Marjolein Busstra
*MtMF22 Preview

Wij praten niet (trans. We Don’t Talk) is an intriguing documentary of in-depth conversations between therapists and youngsters who are entangled in the complex network of sexual violence and exploitation.

It takes us into the inner struggle of four characters in their process to break free from this world while they are all still — to a greater or lesser extent – connected to it and can’t seem to part with. The film offers an intimate insight into the reminiscent of their experiences and process of extrication, where the distorted self-judgment of guilt and shame holds them captive. A close look at the dynamics of therapy, pointing out the importance of signalling youngsters who experience this and to start conversation in a world in which they often feel it’s not safe to talk.

In March and April we will be showing Wij praten niet in a select number of On Tour theaters as a special Movies that Matter Festival 2022 preview.

Credits

Director
Marjolein Busstra
Type
Documentary
Country
The Netherlands
Year
2022
Spoken language
Dutch
*Theatres with English subtitles

Theaters, dates and times

Alkmaar
Tue 8 Mar at 19:00 in Filmhuis Alkmaar
Amsterdam
Sun 3 Apr at 19:30 in Kriterion*
Amsterdam
Fri 15 Apr at 19:30 in Melkweg Cinema (On Tour guest theater)
Amsterdam
Wed 13 Apr at 20:00 in Pakhuis de Zwijger (On Tour guest theater)
Apeldoorn
Tue 8 Mar at 20:00 in Gigant
Arnhem
Wed 23 Mar at 19:00 in Focus Filmtheater
Delft
Thu 31 Mar at 19:30 in Filmhuis Lumen
Deventer
Mon 28 Mar at 20:00 in MIMIK
Enschede
Sun 3 Apr at 13:00 in Concordia
Groningen
Tue 5 Apr at 20:30 in Vera Zienema*
Hilversum
Mon 11 Apr at 20:15 in Filmtheater Hilversum
Leiden
Mon 14 Mar at 19:00 in Kijkhuis*
Nijmegen
Wed 16 Mar at 19:30 in LUX
Wageningen
Tue 29 Mar at 19:30 in Movie W*